Sloe gin.

So, here’s a photo of the sloe gin I made last week with the sloes I picked in Devon. I only had, just, enough to make one bottle. Sloe gin is something I’ve wanted to make for years but I’ve never even seen sloes before let alone been able to pick them.

Sloe gin close up

My ingredients/method:

Purists would probably baulk at this but I put some cinnamon, the rind of an orange (without the pith), a good cupful of sugar maybe more and the sloes (pricked to release their juices and colour) into a bottle of gin. I’ve been turning it every day and will continue to do that for another week I think it is and then occassionally for the next five months.

Sloe gin after a week

It is starting to look rather gorgeous and if it tastes anything like the one my friend made, which she used to make one of the best trifles I’ve ever tasted, it’ll have been a success.

What do you think? Please do let me know by leaving a comment

