Work or the lack thereof ditto internships.

A quick update on the work front.

Remember I was going to apply for a job at my local gastro pub as they were advertising for someone and it didn’t say they were looking for experience? Well, turns out they were – apparently.

No joy with Evans either – they stated experience didn’t necessarily matter rather an interest in fashion was what they were looking for. So, I rock up with my cv which granted isn’t strong on the retail side of things (but it does have some recent work) and my application, which shows I have an interest in fashion and moreover a knowledge of the Evans product including collaborations, and my best dressed self and…nothing, nada, zilch.

I also applied for a part-time job in a local shop, again they said experience wasn’t necessarily the most important thing, with this application I included a cover letter detailing all my retail experience (some is pre current cv) and why I particularly liked that shop. No response.

Received a couple of rejections this week too which is always a joy. No really it can be because sometimes you really don’t want the job you’ve applied for (and obviously it shows).

Got contacted out of the blue by a recruitment agent asking if I was available immediately to work on a project for a month and if so could I send my cv and a few words about relevant experience. Two days later and no word from said recruitment agent.

Offered to help out at another charity do taking place next week, have a fair amount of event experience, and what do they want me to do??? Work the cloakroom. Well, my friend N is doing the make-up and she says she needs me to help her but if not I’ll do the cloakroom, it’s something that I’ve never done before and if that’s where they need help that’s where they need help..what can I say!?

The one that’s been getting me down though?….that Red Magazine internship. I mean it was a ridiculously LONG shot to begin with, pie in the sky some might say, but still I hoped. Of course I hoped or I wouldn’t have applied. I think that they were making/announcing their decision in November and as they’ve just had their Red’s Hot Women awards I suspect they announced it then. Hey ho, I’ve been allowing myself to wallow in my non internship but today’s a new day and I’ve got things to do like finding me fifty plus free canvas shoppers (printed with the Blaggers’ Banquet logo). And I did spend the first half of this year interning with Louis de Gama so I really mustn’t grumble!

Anyway. I’m going to a party tonight and another on Saturday so at least I’m doing something right (maybe not actually but still not sure if that will or will not become a blog post).

One response to “Work or the lack thereof ditto internships.

  1. Please don’t be disheartened. You are obviously waiting for a better opportunity 🙂

    In the meantime, try M&S.

    My blog explains all. DM me if you’d like more info’.

    N x

What do you think? Please do let me know by leaving a comment

