It’ll be all stripe on the night

I made this for a couple of friends of mine who had a baby about 10 days ago. They knew they were having a girl and I knitted it with their daughter in mind. I’m really pleased with it and think it’s got balls!

It’s knitted using Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino to a Debbie Bliss pattern (just for the shape) and is knitted in stocking stitch with a moss stich button band, neckline and cuffs. I’m obsessed with stripes and often end up doing stripey projects but this one was a little more complicated than normal because the button band was knitted at the same time but in a contrast colour.

It'll be all stripe on the night

I’m not keen on making up my knitted projects but I decided with this one to do everything properly and block out the pieces etc and sew them together using the most appropriate stitches. It took AGES but the end product does look better I have to admit.

I should add, I realise, that the buttons are not sewn onto the cardigan in that photo merely placed for the photoshoot. And actually if I make that pattern again, aside from the one I’ve already made entitled ‘Betty Glad wears her (space invaders) heart on her sleeve’ – more of which later, I think I’ll move the buttonholes as I think they look daft so far over.

What do you think? Please do let me know by leaving a comment

