Happy Anniversary

That’s the message I just got from WordPress. It is, apparently, this blog’s FOURTH anniversary. This is my fifty second post. Pah ha ha ha ha. Well, we all know – I, thus far, am not a natural blogger but I do actually enjoy it so I shall keep on going.

I started this blog, in part, to be able to get involved with the Blaggers’ Banquet event of which much has been written. I also wanted a way of chatting nonsense whenever I felt like it and I thought that this could be a good way of developing my writing because I do (like so many others) harbour thoughts about someday writing that book.

I did get very involved with the Banquet and loved every moment but I haven’t, like some of the key Blaggers’ players, gone on to forge a career in food (to be honest, it was clear already then that those who have done; Niamh Shields, Signe Johansen, Mathilde Dewilde– I’m surely forgetting some – were going to do so, what they have done in the past four years is no less impressive though for having been obvious that they were on a course to do it). I love cooking and I’m good at it but I don’t have the absolute passion and dedication for food that these women have so…no surprises then that I’m still only on post number fifty two whilst they have each written, and had published, at least one book since the Banquet.

What have I been doing then? I have ended my career as a band manager, I’ve sent my daughter off to travel the world, sent her off to uni and to live in France (yes yes, I know strictly speaking she has been the one doing the doing but seriously, in managing the trauma of saying goodbye to her time and again I feel as though I’ve been getting a serious emotional and mental workout), I’ve sent my son off to university (equally horrendous), I’ve become (a sometimes uncaring) carer for my father, I’ve successfully held down a job for over three years (which is an enormous achievement for me as I do tend to constantly want to try new things), I’ve been a market trader for three years, been a teacher (knitting), set up knitting groups and encouraged creativity and crafts in people, I’ve listened and talked and listened some more, I’ve met amazing people and made lots of new friends, I’ve also lost a friend who was one of the great loves of my life (through falling out) and am slowly slowly rekindling that friendship, I’ve seen people start new relationships which have blossomed while mine has fallen apart (I’m happy for them, of course), I joined a dating site for all of a month, I’ve spent WAY too much time and energy worrying about my body size and more recently my body shape, actually – just worrying in general, I’ve genuinely enjoyed getting more active through going to the gym and taking dancing classes, I’ve started getting back in to sewing, I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I’ve ranted and I’ve raged, I’ve travelled a bit more and I’ve been having a lot of fun. Taking the briefest of moments to look back over the past few years, I have to say – I am okay with what I’ve done and how I’ve handled things, there have been a hell of a lot of major changes to my life and I’m still smiling and I have no intention of stopping.

Here’s to the next four years of glorious living (which is to say, the standard ups and downs of anyone living and working in a First World city).

This post is pretty over the top. This is a good thing.

What do you think? Please do let me know by leaving a comment

