GrrrrOWLLL…..make mine a burger, a Burger Bear!

Oh. My. Days!

Nom nom nom nom nom nom nom (when did nom become the word, anyway!?). Or rather, mmmm mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmm mmm.

I think I’ve found my perfect burger and, I wasn’t even looking for it. Tucked away on Old Street, across the road from the Holiday Inn Hotel is the rather wonderful BURGER BEAR (the caps are me shouting, rather than their font preference). Now, I’ve been meaning to try out their burger for a while but for various reasons I’ve not managed to. I almost tried one a week ago last Friday but I was with H, and we were going to have to queue, and I still had memories of the last time I’d queued for food and, being as I was in a bit of a hurry too, I thought, nah…I’ll come back some other time, when I’m on my own. So instead I went and had my first Byron burger (and of course, perversely, the whole thing took WAY longer than if I’d just waited at Burger Bear).

Fast forward a week, to last Friday, and I found myself alone, wandering the streets of EC1 with the sweet smell of bacon jam atop plump, juicy patties of perfectly cooked beef luring me eastward across the Old Street roundabout (in other words I’d taken the opportunity to slope out of the office on my own with the idea of heading straight to Burger Bear).

Burger Bear front

So pissed I wasn’t feeling the photo taking because the print on that t-shirt (just shown, as they say) is of a mega burger and crispy salad leaves! Loved it.

N from work has had burgers from here before but he goes for their ultimate meat lover’s burger the ‘Greedy Bear’ and I knew there was no way I could tackle that double patty monster (odd really as I’m SO greedy). Instead I plumped for the ‘Grizzly Bear’ which was topped with oak smoked bacon, cheese and bacon jam. I’ve heard much about bacon jam and in fact, until I’d had a Burger Bear burger (at which point I had to run back to my office so that I could add my ten cents worth to their already funded project) my only experience of Kickstarter funding was Eat Like a Girl’s Project Bacon which surely includes bacon jam!

Update – 20.03.14 – In the interests of fairness and attributing recognition where it’s due….I ought to say that N from work did actually introduce me to Burger Bear, now I come to think of it. Oops.

Anyway, you place your order and then sit back, stand to the side, dance to the disco – whatever really, while you wait for your burger to be cooked. It’s quite theatrical really…

Burger Tom sprinkling herbs

Burger production line.

Above you see the secret (well, I didn’t actually ask what they were) herb mixture being sprinkled onto the burgers (ahem, actually, I think it’s salt and pepper) as well as three burgers with their cheese, probably bacon jam, and doughy bread tops, patiently waiting for their turn to be steamed (helped along by the odd squirt of water) under the cloche lid.

Burger Tom steaming the burgers

Tom about to lift the lid to check on progress.

Burger bun bottoms in waiting

A row of bun bottoms waiting for their toppings – think mine’s second from the end as I can’t spy any onions.

Burger Bear NO ONION

One of the things I’ve noticed about Street Food is that it’s much easier to find out what exactly is in the food and to ask for things to be left out, if necessary. I also asked for my burger to be medium as I like a pink not red burger.

And…here she is (she!?)….in a really doesn’t do the burger justice shot…

Burger Bear Grizzly Bear

Oozy, juicy, salty, sweet, smokey, cheesy, chunky, FRESH, plump(y), meaty goodness.

I loved this place, I’ll definitely be back for more…in fact, I may go back this Friday. And, I’m looking forward to seeing what they do with their two Kickstarter funded shipping containers.

These guys are serious about making good food and they’ve created some seriously good food, they’re friendly and engaging and full of fun. Follow them on Twitter, find out where they are and…go visit.

What do you think? Please do let me know by leaving a comment

